2015 Law Enforcement Memorial Ceremony

LEO Memorial CeremonyThe Pasco Sheriff’s Office held the 2015 Law Enforcement Memorial service Friday morning in Dade City. The ceremony honors those who died in Pasco County and remember those officers who lost their lives in the line of duty. Friday’s speakers included Pasco  Sheriff Chris Nocco, Tarpon Springs Police Chief Robert Kochen, and Port Richey Police Chief Robert Lovering. The ceremony was held at the Historic Courthouse in Dade City and is an appropriate spot as that is where more than 1,000 people gathered in 1922 along with F.B.I. Director J. Edgar Hoover for the funeral services of two law enforcement officers among those honored Friday, Fleece Crenshaw and John Waters.

Those honored include:

Pasco Deputy Sheriff Sheldon S. Nicks (End of Watch: Saturday, May 8, 1909);
Pasco Constable Arthur “Fleece” Crenshaw (End of Watch: Wednesday, October 4, 1922);
Prohibition Agent John Van Waters (End of Watch: Wednesday, October 4, 1922);
Pasco Deputy Sheriff William “Henry” O’Berry (End of Watch: Friday, January 1, 1926);
Pasco Deputy Sheriff John Herbert “Bert” McCabe (End of Watch: Saturday, June 26, 1948);
FHP Trooper James Bradford-Jean “Brad” Crooks (End of Watch: Tuesday, May 19, 1998);
Pasco Deputy Sheriff Captain Charles “Bo” Harrison (End of Watch: Sunday, June 1, 2003);
Hernando Deputy Sheriff John Charles Mecklenburg (End of Watch: Sunday, July 3, 2011);
Pasco Deputies Aaron Buffardi and Verle Johnson (both killed in separate traffic accidents),
and Dade City Patrolman Jenkins Hightower, who died from a heart attack while on duty.

Roses were also placed in front of plaques honoring: Pasco County Law Enforcement Officers Injured in the Line of Duty, Pasco County Law Enforcement Officers Who Have Died of Natural Causes, All Other Law Enforcement Officers Killed in the Line of Duty, and Military Personnel Killed in the Line of Duty Protecting Our Nation. We are grateful for each of you and we thank you for your service to our county.

LEO Memorial Photos